SymphonyCast: Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Print More

One of the first pieces that Paavo Järvi heard as
a boy was Stravinsky’s landmark ballet, The Rite of Spring, and this
thundering, convulsive music shook his world. Now when he conducts the
Cincinnati Orchestra in it, he says, "I try to make things as
uncomfortable as possible, because the piece begins with a birth. I try
to find that layer of primordial, orgy-like energy that’s close to the
earth — and not just play the notes and be satisfied with it." The CSO
delivers in this great performance!

Johnson: prairyerth

Mozart: Piano Concerto #20 in D Minor, K 466; Lars Vogt, piano
Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

Comments are closed.