Four Towns Join In New Regional Education District

Print More

Voters from four southern Vermont towns have voted to disband their separate school boards and form the state’s first Regional Education District, or RED.  

Doug Friant of Londonderry won a seat on the new board.

(Friant) "It’ll be called the Mountain Towns RED, and it’ll encompass Landgrove, Weston, Londonderry and Peru. It had to pass in all four towns, and it won by a very, very wide margin…"

All four towns send students to the Flood Brook Union kindergarten-through-eighth grade school in Londonderry. And that won’t change.

But the towns will leave the Windsor Southwest Supervisory Union, which operates Green Mountain Union High School in Chester.

The towns in the new district offer high school choice. Friant says most students choose Burr and Burton Academy in Manchester.

Friant says the Mountain Towns district will join the Bennington-Rutland Supervisory Union, where high school choice is also prevalent.

Comments are closed.